A Gypsy & A Witch

As the premier of “American Horror Story: Freak Show” draws near I’ve been reminiscent about the past few seasons. While each season brings a sense of fear and intrigue, last seasons “Coven” also brought a sense of style unlike any other show that’s been on my radar. The character that really stood out in my mind was Misty Day aka Stevie Nicks long lost soul sister.

misty misty day hat

Misty’s style was part gypsy, woodland nymph, and witch all wrapped together in a dramatic shawl. What’s there not to love? She took a bohemian base of loose, earth toned clothing and transformed it with vibrant shawls, corsets, and gypsy inspired accessories. Each outfit Misty Day appeared in I wanted, but since I’m not a witch I realized this look may be a little much for me. A year later I finally found the perfect adaption of this gypsy witch:

Misty Day Inspired - 9.30.14
Misty Day Inspired – 9.30.14

My take keeps the gypsy alive with the addition of a vintage shawl I dug out of my dress up chest. To keep the look grounded in the 21st century I wrapped the shawl over a jersey maxi dress and accessorized with a vintage choker and spoon necklace. I knew I’d gotten the look right when I threw on some Fleetwood Mac and the urge to twirl could not be resisted.

Outfit Credits

Dress: Target, Boots: Betsey Johnson (Marshalls), Shawl & Accessories: Vintage

 

Leave a Reply

