A New Age for Consignment

Having moved around six times in three months last summer I quickly realized that you really can have too many clothes–even with a rooftop carrier! When I finally made my last move for a while I did a closet purge and had overflowing bags of clothes to donate and to take to my local Plato’s Closet. Much to my surprise Plato’s took next to nothing, and I was left with bags of gently used clothes that I didn’t want to donate. I tried to sell them at a garage sale with no luck, and just as I was ready to give up I came across the website/app Vinted – a online consignment marketplace.

Within an hour of discovering it, I’d done enough research to feel confident it wasn’t a swindle and listed my first five items. All I had to do was download the app on my phone, use the app to take the photos, write a description, set a price, then upload. Within minutes people were liking my items and within a couple days I sold three things!

Essentially Vinted combines the worlds of consignment stores and Instagram by allowing you to easily upload and edit photos, as well as scroll through other users’ (Vinties) closets. If you see something you like you can favorite it to let the Vintie know they are on the right track, buy it, or potentially swap it for an item you have (the internet version of raiding your best friend’s closet).Β  Vinted takes 20% of the sale and provides you with three flat rate ship options (based on weight) that the buyer pays. Once the item is bought all you have to do is print the label then go grab one of the free USPS Priority Mail boxes and send it out.

Now if you have designer clothes, or are looking to sell things fast, Vinted may not be the right place for you, but I urge you to check it out and see the future of consignment. In the sidebar you can find a link to my Vinted closet or click here–let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

